We have been through a rough time during the past year or two across the country.  The economic downturn has many attorneys increasingly concerned with how the tough economy is affecting their practice and their ability to focus on their law firm marketing plans.

As a business owner you cannot afford to focus on the fear and scarcity mentality that is seen today and being promoted by the media.  Let’s have a little perspective on this.  Is this the best of times?  No.  Is this the worst we have ever seen it?  Not by a long shot. Will we recover?  Yes.  When?  No one knows.  Your challenge is to stay focused on taking action, look for opportunity in the midst of crisis and find a way to leverage it!

Here are 5 tips to keeping your focus.

Focus on the positive.  I recommend making a list of all of the good things that happen to you each day and keep it posted near your computer as a constant reminder that not everything is bad.

Focus on what you can control, instead of what you cannot control.  You cannot control global markets, the investment banks, or the economy.  You can only control your actions so create an action plan of what steps you are going to take to keep moving forward.  Have a heart to heart talk with every attorney in your firm and require them to submit 3 specific steps they will take in the next 90 days to generate more business for your firm.

Focus on improving client satisfaction and retention. Send out a client satisfaction survey, call up your top 10 clients and take them to lunch, stay connected with your current and former clients – ask them what challenges they are facing and how you can assist them.  Perhaps you can introduce them to a banking colleague for a much needed business line of credit or a real estate broker who can help them sublease some office space.

Focus on implementing your marketing plan.  When this economic crisis is over you will find some firms have just barely managed to survive, while others have grown significantly. The difference is when everyone else was pulling back, some firms saw this as the perfect opportunity to expand their marketing and increase their efforts.  Which path will you follow?

Focus on connecting with referral sources.  Go through your rolodex and reconnect with every single person who sent you a referral in the last 24 months and start meeting with them in person.

As the African proverb says, “If you want to go fast, travel alone; but if you want to go far, travel together.”  We are all in this journey together.

*************************************************************************************
Looking To Beef Up Your 2010 Marketing Plan?  Sign up for one of our upcoming webinars.
Are you:
….Worried about the Recession?
….Concerned with the Lack of New Clients?
….Ready to Stop Worrying and Start Taking Action?

Then join Stephen Fairley for one of our upcoming webinars that will allow you to build a robust law firm marketing plan that will allow you to attain your 2010 business objectives.

Our upcoming schedule includes:

5 Easy Steps to Create Your 2010 Marketing Plan
Thursday, February 11 at 2-3pm Pacific | 3-4pm Mountain | 4-5pm Central | 5-6pm Eastern.  Click here to register.

7 Proven Keys to Recession-Proof Your Law Practice
Thursday, February 18 at 2-3pm Pacific | 3-4pm Mountain | 4-5pm Central | 5-6pm Eastern.  Click here to register.